Child Support's Lawyers

Child Support's lawyers assist in securing child support, but lawyers do not represent either party in a legal action.

In cases receiving child support services, the State of North Dakota is a real party in interest. Status as a real party in interest arises when:

  • An individual party signs up for services;
  • The household in which the child is living begins to receive public assistance, resulting in a referral to Child Support;
  • A child support agency in another state requests assistance under the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act.

Child Support has staff attorneys located throughout the state who assist in securing support. These staff attorneys represent Child Support, not the individual parties and are a good resource when there are questions about Child Support’s services and procedures.

List of IV‑D Attorneys by Location (City and Judicial District(s))

Attorney Name

Location (City/Judicial District(s))

Email Address

Paulette Oberst

Bismarck central office

poberst@nd.gov

Beth Dittus

Bismarck central office

bldittus@nd.gov

 

 

 

Sheila Keller

Bismarck regional office/South Central

skkeller@nd.gov

Steve Podoll

Bismarck regional office/South Central and Southwest

spodoll@nd.gov

Cody Ostdahl-Hedge

Bismarck regional office/South Central

chedge@nd.gov

Vacant

Bismarck regional office/South Central

 

 

 

 

Jamie Goulet

Minot regional office/Northwest 

jgoulet@nd.gov

Tina Heinrich

Minot regional office/North Central and Northeast

theinrich@nd.gov

Meredith Childress

Minot regional office/North Central and Northeast

mkchildress@nd.gov

 

 

 

Courtney Evenson

Devils Lake regional office/Northeast and Turtle Mountain tribal court

cevenson@nd.gov

Vacant

Devils Lake regional office/Northeast

 

Jaakan Williams

Under contract with Child Support to do legal work in Spirit Lake tribal court

____

 

 

 

Sarah Cannon

Grand Forks regional office/Northeast Central and Northeast

scannon@nd.gov

Ethan Sonterre

Grand Forks regional office/Northeast Central and Northeast

esonterre@nd.gov

 

 

 

Adair Boening

Fargo regional office/East Central and Southeast

aboening@nd.gov

Janet Naumann

Fargo regional office/East Central and Southeast

jknaumann@nd.gov

Justin Breitwieser

Fargo regional office/East Central and Southeast

jtbreitwieser@nd.gov

Chris Jung

Fargo regional office/East Central and Southeast

cajung@nd.gov

 

 

 

Cynthia Schaar

Jamestown regional office/Southeast

cschaar@nd.gov

Updated 8/22/19