Employers are encouraged to remit payments electronically. Electronic funds transfer (EFT) is easy, secure, and efficient. There are several options that are no cost to the employer. Employers with 25 or more employees at any time, and have received 4 or more income withholding orders must remit payments electronically. Register for EFT to start making payments electronically.
Text in grey is to indicate this will appear only after user clicks on WEB EFT
No Cost • Easy to Use • Efficient • Secure
You may authorize payments with each pay cycle or establish reoccurring payments.
You may edit account or payment information at any time.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use the same electronic funds transfer (EFT) process to make payments to my employees and to Child Support?
No. Specific data is needed by Child Support to properly process payments.
Web EFT is designed to ensure that all of the needed data is included with each payment. The data can be stored for future use so it doesn’t have to be re-entered each time you make Child Support payments.
Why do I need a State of North Dakota Login ID?
The Login ID allows you to access North Dakota government online services. You will only need to remember one Login ID and password to access many services.
Why do I have to get a Child Support Authorization Code in addition to the Login ID?
For security, the authorization code is mailed to the mailing address of the employer as listed on the Child Support system.
What do I do after I have my Login ID and Authorization Code?
Use your Login ID and Authorization Code to access the secure Web EFT Payment Portal and create your employer profile. Your profile includes:
- Primary contact person
- Secondary contact persons if your business will have multiple users
- Bank routing number and account number
After I get the Login ID and Authorization Code can I begin making payments?
First you will be asked to provide your bank routing number and account number and a verification transaction will be sent to that account. Once verified your account status on the website will switch from ‘verifying account’ to ‘active’. This takes about 6 days. Once the account status is ‘active’ you can begin making Web EFT payment.
When will payments be deducted from my bank account?
You control the date of the debit by entering the ‘process date’ for each payment. Funds are debited 2 business days after the process date.
What if I made a mistake when making a payment?
You may change or delete the payment up to 9:00 PM on the ‘process date’, this is the date payment was authorized. If you discover an error after the ‘process date’, contact Child Support right away to discuss other options.
Can I view my payment history?
Yes. Payment information is maintained for 180 days after each payment.
Can I stop Web EFT?
Yes. You may stop using this payment option at any time. If you employ 25 of more employees law requires you to make payments electronically. Web File Transfer is an alternate payment option.
Tell me about the Terms and Conditions.
The Terms and Conditions explain the contractual agreement between you and Child Support. They also describe the Web EFT process, provide definitions of terms used on the website, and provide information about your rights and responsibilities.
Can an employer located outside of North Dakota use Web EFT to make a payment?
Yes. Any employer located within the United States can make a payment to North Dakota Child Support using Web EFT.
Employers with 24 or more employee must remit payments electronically.
Mail Payments to:
State Disbursement Unit (SDU)
PO Box 7280
Bismarck, ND 58507-7280
Pay at any Child Support Office
- Start withholding no later than the first pay period after receipt of the income withholding order.
- Provide the remittance identifier for each payment.
- Remit income withholding payments within 7 business days of pay date.
- Contact Child Support immediately if a check or electronic payment is not going to be honored by your bank. Learn more about returned/dishonored payments.
Employers may withhold and retain an additional fee of $3.00 per month from the employee’s income to cover expenses involved in transmitting payments.