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The child support amount a person is required to pay in North Dakota is set by a court
using child support guidelines. The guidelines are adopted by the North Dakota
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) through administrative rule. State
and federal laws require HHS to review the guidelines every four years to ensure that
their application results in appropriate child support amounts being ordered.

As part of the review process, HHS convened a drafting advisory committee. The
members of the committee included a legislator, an attorney in private practice, a tax
preparer, and several staff from the Child Support Section of HHS.

Based on the recommendations of the advisory committee, HHS proposed several
changes to the guidelines. A public hearing on the proposed changes was held on
March 1, 2023, and written comments were accepted until March 13, 2023.

Amended guidelines will take effect on July 1, 2023. Most of the changes are
summarized below and can be found on Child Support’s website.

Summary of Changes

The changes include substantive changes, clarifications, and changes intended to
improve the flow and readability of the guidelines. Several significant areas of the
guidelines are left unchanged.

Substantive changes — generally in the order in which they appear in the
quidelines

¢ A new exclusion from gross income is created for early withdrawals from retirement
accounts.

e The deduction for lodging expenses incurred as a condition of employment is
increased from $93 to $96 per night and the deduction for mileage is increased from
56 cents to 65.5 cents per mile.

e A look-back period not to exceed five years is imposed when gross income that is
subject to fluctuations must be determined.




When imputing income based on the obligor’'s previous earnings, the look-back
period is revised to reference only the current calendar year and the two previous
calendar years.

Imputing income is precluded if the obligor is receiving disability compensation from
the Veterans Administration based on an overall disability rating of 80 percent
(formerly 100 percent).

New rebuttal reasons are created to address the reduced ability to pay support when
the obligor is responsible for:

» Educational costs of the children at private schools; or

» Child care costs for the supported children.

A new rebuttal reason is created to address the reduced needs of the child to
support from the obligor when the child is living outside the family home at
government expense.

The existing rebuttal reason that allows for equalizing support obligations when

equal residential responsibility is ordered is expanded to be applicable in split
residential responsibility cases too.

Clarifications — generally in the order in which they appear in the quidelines

The definition of “self-employment” is revised to clarify that it means employment in
one or more related activities resulting in income to an obligor.

In foster care or guardianship care cases when the parents are together in an intact
household and their incomes are being combined, language is added to clarify that
their incomes include imputed income, when applicable.

Changes to improve flow and readability

When extended parenting time applies, language requiring that the court order specify
the number of overnights is moved from the general instructions to the section on the
extended parenting time adjustment.

Regarding the presumption of underemployment, the elements are re-arranged to
align with arrangement elsewhere in the imputation section.

Areas where no changes have been made

Split residential responsibility.

Self-employment.



e Multiple-families.
e Equal residential responsibility
e Schedule of amounts.

For more information: Contact Paulette Oberst, Assistant Director for Policy and
Chief Legal Counsel, at 701-328-7533 or by email at poberst@nd.gov.




